Cadenza Musicians Directory
Listing of musicians

Name: J. Michael Norsworthy
Skills: soloist (Clarinet player specializing in new music)
Phone: +1 610 935 2391
Address: 1027 W. Bridge Street, Phoenixville, PA 19460, United States
Links: Website     E-mail
Clarinetist J. Michael Norsworthy comprises one half of The Rigadelphia Duo with pianist Inara Zandmane. Most recently presented by the St. Louis Pro Musica, the Duo has performed in Chicago, St. Louis and Carbondale. A recipient of the Chancellor's Research and Creativity Grant at SIUC, they will soon record a compact disc featuring music of contemporary Russian composers including two world premiere recordings. The Duo is also in the process of commissioning composers Ben Sutherland, Suzanne Sorkin, and Kathleen Ginther for the creation and premiere of new works to be performed in the spring of 2000.

Most recently Mr. Norsworthy was first prize winner of the concerto competition held at SIUC. In April 1999, he performed Debussy's Premiere Rhapsodie with the SIUC orchestra. In addition, he also performed as soloist in Scott McAllister's "X" with the SIUC wind ensemble, on their annual tour and at Shryock Auditorium. During the summer of 1998, Norsworthy was selected for the clarinet fellowship in the Aspen Contemporary Ensemble (ACE) at the Aspen Music Festival. As a member of the eight player ensemble, he performed in the U.S. premiere of Mark Anthony-Turnage's opera, "Greek", where the Chicago Tribune hailed the ensemble as having "expertly played …giving the music precision and polish." In addition to his duties with ACE, he also played as a member of the Aspen Chamber Symphony and worked with conductors such as David Zinman, David Robertson, and Sydney Harth.

Mr. Norsworthy has presented solo and chamber recitals in both the United States and Europe. In November of 1994, he performed Nielsen's Concerto for Clarinet Op.57 with the Pottstown Symphony. This was a result of his second place win in the Kathryn E. McPhail Competition. In 1992, he won the Ben and Karlene I. Memorial Scholarship Competition and received honorable mention in the MTNA National Competition.

A former student of Elsa Ludewig-Verdehr at Michigan State University, Mr. Norsworthy was a member of the Michigan State University Symphony Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra, Wind Symphony, the Jackson Symphony Orchestra, the Midland Symphony and the Greater Lansing Symphony Orchestra.



Musicians Index       Add a Biography       Cadenza Index