Cadenza Musicians Directory
Listing of musicians

Name: Alexander Shchetynsky
Skills: Composer (Avant-garde, post-avant-garde, post-modern)
Phone: +38 044 400 88 18
Fax: +38 044 400 88 18
Address: Tyraspilska St. 43A - 80, Kyiv 04136, Ukraine
Links: Website     E-mail
Alexander Shchetynsky (Ukraine), born in 1960 in Kharkiv, graduated from the Kharkiv Art Institute, later participated in master-classes in Poland and Denmark (lectures by P. Ruders, E. Denisov, L.Andriessen, W.Lutoslawski, K.Penderecki, B.Schaeffer, M.Lindberg a.o.).

He is a prize-winner of five international composers competitions: named after Kazimierz Serocki and Witold Lutoslawski in Poland, Composers Competition of Sacred Music in Switzerland, Henri Dutilleux Composers Competition in France, Gustav Mahler Composers Competition in Austria. In 2000 his chamber opera "Annunciation" was awarded the Russian National Theatrical Prize Gold Mask in nomination "innovation".

Since late 80s his compositions have been regularly presented at many important festivals in Europe, performed among others by the Moscow opera house "Helikon-Opera", the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra, children's choir Maitrise de Radio France, the Arditti String Quartet, the Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble, Ensemble Wiener Collage, Stockholm Saxophone Quartet, Mark Pekarsky Percussion Ensemble, the pianist Ivar Mikhashoff, soprano Phyllis Bryn-Julson. His creative preferences are fundamentally evident in instrumental and vocal compositions of religious content.

Principal works: chamber opera Annunciation (1998), Light to Lighten for choir and bells (1989), Glossolalie for orchestra (1989), The Preacher's Word for soprano and string quartet (1991), La Naissance de Jean-Baptist for children's choir and percussion (1992), The Baptism, Temptation And Prayer Of Our Lord Jesus Christ for bass and five instruments (1996), Flute concerto (1993), A prima vista for orchestra (1997), Winter Elegy for saxophone and chamber ensemble (1994), Sonata da camera for cello and chamber ensemble (1998), compositions for various ensembles Way to Meditation (1990), Face to Star (1991), Looking-Glass Music (1992), Now Lettest Thou... (1993), In Low Voices (1995), Pas de deux (1996), The Light of Thy Countenance for percussion (1996), Pas de quatre (1999), Cortege for saxophone quartet (1999), Sonata for piano and percussion (2000), and others.



Musicians Index       Add a Biography       Cadenza Index